EQing a Maverick

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deny

Reaction score
I'm still new to Mesas and am definitely a huge fan now. I'm still trying to dial the thing in though. I swear, everytime I think I've got it close, the next time I play...have to do more tweaking. Just wondering if there are any Maverick owners out there that wouldn't mind sharing some of their settings, so maybe it can give me a good place to start...or maybe at least give me a better idea of what I'm doing. I can hear the potential in there and just want to pull that out. It sounds a bit like there's a blanket over it.

Thanks for any suggestions.

It would be helpful to know what sort of tones you are trying to achieve. There are LOTS of tonal variations to be had with this amp. Is the "blanket" over the clean channel, the distortion channel or both? If you don't have a manual you can download one for free at www.mesaboogie.com . Some good information there.

The Maverick is somewhat unique in having two separate preamps instead of the distortion channel just adding cascading gain stages. To get sparkling cleans you probably need to turn the output level up fairly high. Turn up the master on clean channel, then adjust the volume and start your eq tweaking with the treble control. Somewhere around noon the mid control on the clean channel starts adding gain so be careful with that one. It is easy to add too much bass, it will not enhance after a certain point but rather create an unpleasant murkiness that will not go away until dialed back.

I find that I prefer the sound of the distortion channel at lower gain settings. The Maverick is not the right choice for metal. Actually the clean channel does a better metal tone than the distortion channel if you tweak it correctly. For metal, use a pedal. Again, treble first, then mid then bass.