Effects through a SS vs. effects through a tube amp

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a performing guitarist on a tight budget and I need to get more versatility through my pedal board. I was thinking that rather than dealing with maintenance-heavy tube amps, I would like to try to dumb down my rig a little bit to a solid state head with a nice clean channel and spring reverb and get my distortion from a pedal, like an OCD or Fulldrive...

BUT...

I have heard people saying that distortion pedals sound way better through tube amps. Considering the clean channel is even richer on my old Fender solid state than it was on my old Rect-o-verb, I don't quite see how that can be 100% true. If you run distortion pedals through an effects loop, have any of you guys had experiences where pedals just didn't cut it through a solid state amp? I feel like people saying that the OCD sounds much better through a tube clean channel is due to a sort of snootiness towards anything solid state from traditionalists, but maybe there is some merit to it.

saucygitaristak2 said:
I'm a performing guitarist on a tight budget and I need to get more versatility through my pedal board. I was thinking that rather than dealing with maintenance-heavy tube amps, I would like to try to dumb down my rig a little bit to a solid state head with a nice clean channel and spring reverb and get my distortion from a pedal, like an OCD or Fulldrive...

BUT...