Building a custom Theile Using EV's Plans

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trickyrick

Reaction score
Here is the thing. The EV cabinet has a lot of cleats that I find totaly overkill. Mesa cabs don't use the cleat system other than to attach the back of the cab and the speaker baffle. I have been building furniture and cabs for many years and have never seen this over engineered small cab structure.

Has anyone built one without all of the cleats? I understand a cabinet is tuned, would deleting a good portion of those cleats effect the sound reproduction?

I have a wide body MK IV which as most of you know is a few inches wider then the standard Theiel cab. I am building a matching cab to my widebody which is 22 1/2" but I am also instaling a false wall inside the cab to keep the dimensions like a standard Theile. In doing so I think it will also balance the cab weight wise, it should compensate for the wood from the ports. Make sense? So, the original question still remains are all of the cleats needed? As always, thank you much.

As long as you precisely maintain the internal air volume and the exact port demensions you can build it in any shape or fashion you like. As Boogie does without the cleats use plywood that will not resonate.

Cool. My intention is to use 13ply void free baltic birch. I use the 1/2" version for drawer sides in cabinetry. I am dovetailing the joints for structural strength on the cab itself, and I am going to sink the baffle in a dado with a stop joint at the port cleats.