2 channel triple rec black face

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timv

Reaction score
I bought the 999 bin triple on ebay a few eeks ago and wanted to give an update. It got here packed well and in good shape. I started playing it and everything worked great for a few minutes and then all the power tubes started red plating. I first tried different tubes thinking they just biased hot (really hot) but same thing happened. I opened it up and found that the diode to the bias supply had blown but would work ok for a few minutes but once it got warm it would open, most diodes that I have seen blow actually short so it was kind of weird. I think the tubes that were installed may have been too high of a bias and at some point over stressed that diode. It was an easy fix and the seller did offer a slight refund but I just gave them a heads up to make sure there amps are fully working before selling. Next time it might be somebody that doesn't know how to fix it. I attached some pictures. Bias pot added now also
c108_3.jpg

140_4084.jpg

140_4040.jpg

140_4039.jpg

140_4035.jpg
[/img]

I'm installing bias pots all internally now so no holes drilled. The only downside is having to remove chassis to adjust but I figure if tubes need to be changed it is a good time to check out other internals anyway. The circuit board has 2 resistor spots in parallel so I install the pot in one of the places.

So hows does it sound? If you're ever looking to turn a profit on it I'd gladly give you $1,000.00 for it! :wink:

My tech work is worth more than a dollar alone!!! I could charge someone probably about 2.50 for that diode and another 2.75 for the pot then about 100 for labor and act like an auto repair place.....