When trying out a Boogie...

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

A-5best

Reaction score
Hey Im on the search for a new amp and have a huge list of amps I want to try out, many of which are Mesas(DC*, Mk IV, Rec, Express etc.). My question is I know a lot of Mesa amps require a fair deal of tweaking in order to get he sound you want but to be honest Im no expert at tweaking quite yet. When you tried out an amp, say a Mark IV, were you immediately impressed or did you need time to play with it for a little?

Like I said Im no tweaking expert but Im not exactly an idiot either, what do you suggest I do when I go to try them out? I heard somewhere around here that I should start at 0 and then add each knob until Im happy with what it sounds like or something, any other suggestions?

For the record I want pretty good cleans and crunch and balls to the wall earth shattering metal rhythm and lead.

I was thinking maybe I should DL the manuals and then write down some of the suggested settings and then go to the store?

The MESA amp is almost more of an instrument than the guitar. The best thing I think is to get the manual of the amp you are looking at and get a handle on the way that the main controls interact. This is really the key to all MESA amps. On a Mark I it is the balance of Vol 1 and Vol 2 with the pres etc.

With amps like the Lone Star this is key to dialing in the tone. They are there, but if you have a good starting point you will be able to get a better idea which amp is your best fit.

BWK

This may not work for everyone but it does for me.

When trying a new amp out I allways set all the controlls half way then adjust from there.

Also I get my Clean Tone first then I go down the Dirty Tones I need.