Whats up with this c+ (weird)6-12ax7's

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buster Leggs

Reaction score
I just got this 60/100 c+ long chassis.Serial # 1237X. It passes the loop test but it has 6 12ax7"s. 4 across the front, 1 directly behind v1 (thats the odd one) and 1 between the transformer (105) and the power tubes (4).Can someone please explain what it is I have. I'm new to B.Board and have been doing alot of reading here so I don't ask questions that have been covered over and over, but I have yet to see anything on this.THANK YOU FOR ANY INFO !!!

Buster Leggs said:
I just got this 60/100 c+ long chassis.Serial # 1237X. It passes the loop test but it has 6 12ax7"s. 4 across the front, 1 directly behind v1 (thats the odd one) and 1 between the transformer (105) and the power tubes (4).Can someone please explain what it is I have. I'm new to B.Board and have been doing alot of reading here so I don't ask questions that have been covered over and over, but I have yet to see anything on this.THANK YOU FOR ANY INFO !!!

Take out the chassis and snap some circuit pictures. Its hard to say without looking at the circuit.

Take some pics of the underside of the chassis (in case there's some tell-tale markings), some pics of the back of the chassis (in case a previous owner installed something unusual), and some gut shots (so we can look at where the preamp tubes "flow" to).