What Kind of Speaker for My Mark III 60Watt Combo

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tommyg

Reaction score
Hey folks -

Newbie here! Looking for recommendations on a speaker for my Mark III 60 watt combo. I presently use an Eminence Delta Pro 12 (the EV was way to sterile in this open-back combo) and combine it with my 1x12 Boogie combo with an EV (much better in the Thiele cab).

I play blues & jazz in the style of Robben Ford adn Larry Carlton and was wondering what you'd recommend. I use humbucker guitars (Heritage 535 and 150-Les Paul types).

Thanks for all advice!

If you didn't like the EV then you don't need to listen to what a lot of people say. ;)

I have used a Weber Michigan ceramic 12", an EV 12L Classic, an original 12L, an Eminence V50, a Celestion MC90, an Altec 4178c, and an EVM SRO alnico in my amp. I like the 12Ls, the Altec, and the SRO the most, and in conjunction with the 12L thiele, I probably liked the C90 the least.

The michigan was very inefficient and quiet compared to the 12L thiele. When I would use them both, I could only hear the Thiele, and alone, I'd have to turn the amp up halfway(!) to get any reasonably rockin' volume. I have a feeling I got a bunk speaker, but I haven't tried another one.

The 12Ls are very nice IMO and I disagree with your comment that they sound sterile. I owned a Delta Pro for a week but I sold it to a friend who needed a speaker before I got a chance to try it. The Classic and the originals are virtually identical.

The Eminence V50 is a real nice sounding speaker but you'd probably want to use two as they're 50w rating. They sound more like a celestion, but better than the MC90 IMO.