Tube Newbie With A Problem

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjack

Reaction score
I just received a Mesa Simul 2:90 I bought on eBay. In theory, it is "new" and with a transferrable warranty. Seller had lots of good feedback, so what can I say? He's agreed to refund my money if I return the amp. If it's just a tube, it was a smokin' deal, so to speak, and I'd hate to have to return it.

I am a tube newbie, but from what I read here my problem may be tube-related.

When I first powered up, the amp simply did not make any sound. :x Powered up , all tubes glowing, fan on, but nothing save for an occasional crackle. Uh oh, I'm bumming. I called Mesa and the tech said check the fuses on the I/O panel. Both fuses were cooked. I called Mesa back and the tech says sounds like a bad power tube. Pull the tubes and smell the end; if it smells burnt, there ya go. I pulled all tubes, no telltale odor.

I bought a couple more fuses and fired the amp up. It was playing and I must say for all of about three minutes, sounded great. I smelled something burning and a fuse blew. No smoke. The shipping box looked intact and the amp was well-packed. I see nothing amiss inside the amp - looks pristine.

Man, I'm hoping this is just a bad power tube. One of the tubes looks a bit discolored relative to the others. They all seemed to have the smae glow. Anything else to look for? Can a tube have a short and smell like it's burning?

Wonder if Rat Shack has a tester. :?

are you sure your speaker interface cable is good, because a bad one can lead to the problem you are having.

And if you even remotely suspect the tubes are going, just go ahead and buy new ones. If turns out it WASNT the tubes, then its not like you wont be able to use those tubes down the line.

no soul said: