Studio 22+ and External Speaker Cab

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bamyasi

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have got my eye on a mesa boogie 1x 12 cab being advertised locally, the description says it is loaded with a EV (EVM) Blackshadow 200 watt 8 ohm speaker.

I am not experienced with live rigs but have always fancied trying out my Studio 22+ in this situation.

So my questions are could I hook up the speaker cab to the amp and use both speakers at once, or would I be wasting my money?

And if you can use them both, would there be a significant enough impact on sound with 2 speakers for a decent live rig?

Thanks for any input!

James

Running two speakers does a couple of things. First, it produces a fuller sound, not necessarily louder. Two 8 ohm speakers (in parallel) should be run off the 4 ohm taps, lending a slightly different sound, which I prefer.

It's also important that the speakers are complimentary in sound and efficiency (dB rating). A C-90 and an EVM are a match preferred by many Mark owners. The EVM is a very accurate and articulate speaker, supplying a tight boomy bottom and clear highs. The C-90 is a softer, more mid-range focused speaker, so the two are good compliments. They are also very similar in efficiency. A more efficient speaker (say 100 dB) will be louder than a less efficient one (say 90 dB), and will overwhelm the sound. Usually the larger the magnet the more efficient the speaker. IIRC, the Vintage 50 has a relatively light magnet, so the EVM might overwhelm it. You should be able to find the efficiency of the Vintage 50 somewhere.