Stilettos and Electra Dynes and Mark Vs - Oh My!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ifailedshapes

Reaction score
I have an Express 5:25 1x10" combo. It's a cool little amp (very impressive for it's small size), but I want to get something a little more "grown up". I am torn (and consequently know a LOT about) these three amps:

1) Stiletto Ace - I am addicted to this amp. I love the dirty channel, and the Fat Clean setting of channel 1 is simply amazing. If I heard it (the clean channel) blindfolded I wouldn't guess it was an EL-34 amp.

2) Electra Dyne - This is the amp I have spent the least amount of time with in person. So many people love this amp that there must be something to it. Every demo I have watched is very impressive. I have a couple years experience with a Mark IV though, so I am quite leery of shared tone controls. I know it uses stacked pots to help compensate for this, but I don't want to feel like I have to compromise one channel for the sake of another.

3) Mark V - I had a few complaints about the Mark IV. The Mark V addressed literally every single complaint I had. I think that says enough for this one. :)

I like the Lone Star clean sound, and these three amps can get me close enough to that sound. I want to have an amp that will let me have foot-switchable:
1) three-dimensional cleans
2) verge of breakup blues
3) solid rock chugga chugga (not metal)
4) searing leads

Now that I type that out, I think I'm starting to lean back towards the Mark V with an OD pedal, i.e. BB Preamp or OCD.

Anyone care to chime in on this one? :mrgreen:

I just realized that the 3 amps I am trying to choose between are the same 3 amps pictured in the "Guitar Amplifiers" section on Mesa's product page. Yeesh...

The V is hands down the most versatile.