Rectoverb series 1 question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheRazMeister

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to Mesa and just picked up an older ROV 1 in great condition. I'm still fooling around with settings and getting used to the "Mesa" flavors. Overall I'm loving the richness of tone but have run into one disturbing issue (at least for me). I have a very agressive picking attack and I hear the percussive sound of the pick loud and clear through the amp. Sort of a thump, thump type tone. If I play anything fast it sounds like a helicopter. The notes still ring and sing but the undertone of the pick sound is getting on my nerves. I notice the noise on other amps but nowhere near as pronouced.
Settings: Vintage - Gain 1:30, Treble 2:00, Mid 8:00, Bass 12:30. Presence: 12:00.
Also point out that the sound is MUCH more evident when playing in the upper registers (12th fret and higher)
Any help would be appreciated...

Check to see that your strings are not making contact with the bridge p'up when you pick hard. Your Mesa has ample bass and volume to make up for anything you lose by lowering the p'ups.

What about your pics? I actually like that sound your describing, I use Dunlop Tortex or Ultex pics for that scratchy attack. Have you tried the modern mode on the amp? The vintage can be a little more scratchy sounding.

The vintage can be a little more scratchy sounding.