Played the Express 5:25 & 5:50 Today; Which 1 Get's the

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAZZGEAR

Reaction score
I stepped in to one of my local music stores -- and was surprised to find they had both Express combos in stock. Naturally, I had to try them both.
This was my take on both them:

5:25 - A definite upgrade over the 1x10 subway series amps. Surprising headroom out of the clean channel and the lead/burn channel really does rip as stated in another post. However, I found the sound to be too boxy. Overall I didn't really like this amp in the 1x10 combo form factor. On the other hand, it would really shine with a larger sized cab. So I'd recommend the head unit to use with your choice of cabs.

Grade: B+

5:50 - This is where it's at. Took the F-50 and raised it to another level. When I started playing this amp, it seems like all of the employees and customers in the store stopped what they were doing and circled around to hear this great amp. The cleans are very reminiscent of the Lonestar Classic with a bit more bite. The reverb is wet and silky (like a fender vibro king). In addition to the LS series amps, this is only the second amp I've come across where you can just plug your axe in and get a great sound w/o effects or pedals.

The lead/burn channel - this is the channel they should have put into the Lonestars. Searing liquid leads (ala Mark IV)..and the crunch has a Stilleto Ace character to it.

Grade: A+

I really wanted to like the 5:25 for practices and restaurant type gigs -- but it didn't do it for me. YMMV

My next amp is the 5:50 -- as soon as I sell my Triaxis.

Cool man, thanks for your reply! I'm really interested in the 5:25 head but i can only imagine how much will it cost overhere in Europe :roll: :evil:

Nice review, can't wait to try these. Were you using single coils or humbuckers?

fredster said: