OLD MarkIV

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarkIVmetal

Reaction score
Hi im new to this but i have a 1989 MarkIV and it dose not look like the new ones. mine just says Boogie and has FX in and out on both switchable
and normal. can any one tell me whats with this and are there any real good Metallica setting anywhere i have tried and 1000 they all sound like **** .

thanks guys

... just be patient. Your tone will differ with the guitar, cabinet and speaker choice. It has taken me a while to find the tones I have been looking for. Remember this is not a spin-to-win amp. Each knob affects another and they are sensistive. I have found the best Metallica rhythms in Lead with more mids than you would think. The standard V in the eq doesn't work for me as well as when I adjust them to the song. I do like the 750 bottomed out though. 80,240,2200,6600 are all above the centerline and the next line up. If you use too much bass you mud out. If you use too much highs then the rest of your controls do little to nothing. I also tend to run a SD-1 into the amp though out of habit from prior amps (Marshalls). Again do not treat this like any other amp. It is a little different and requires patience and you will find what you want but you have to use your ears. Knob adjustment will be needed to get you close. Then you use the eq to fine tune it.