newbie question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nknyc

Reaction score
Hello, I have been playing guitar for many years, but not on tube amps, I have been using 2 different randalls one from the mid 90's and a current model.

I am interested in getting a mesa express since I live in an apartment and i dont gig, just jam with friends.

I just have a few questions if you dont mind answering them

whats the difference between the el-84 and the 6l6's? I am looking for a recto type crunch and i play funk and classical as well.

also what does the 5-50 class switch do, is it just for raising and lowering power when needed?

what exactly does the countour switch do?

how often do tubes need to be changed and do you have to change them all at once?

sorry if these questions are absurd, but i'm really interested in tube amps.

thanks in advance.

when will the express combos be in stores?

nknyc said:
Hello, I have been playing guitar for many years, but not on tube amps, I have been using 2 different randalls one from the mid 90's and a current model.

I am interested in getting a mesa express since I live in an apartment and i dont gig, just jam with friends.

I just have a few questions if you dont mind answering them

whats the difference between the el-84 and the 6l6's? I am looking for a recto type crunch and i play funk and classical as well.

also what does the 5-50 class switch do, is it just for raising and lowering power when needed?

what exactly does the countour switch do?

how often do tubes need to be changed and do you have to change them all at once?

sorry if these questions are absurd, but i'm really interested in tube amps.

thanks in advance.

when will the express combos be in stores?