New Found Love for my DC-10!!!!!!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monsta-Tone

Boogie Supporter
Reaction score
I've been using my Mark IV A for a few months now. I've been able to get some pretty good tones out of it, using my PRS Custom 22.

I tried this guitar with my DC-10 and was unimpressed.

Then, I re-wired the guitar and got rid of the rotary switch.

I also swapped several of the Mesa preamp tubes for JJ's in the DC-10.

I tried the DC again yesterday at band practice and it absolutely rocked.

I put it up against the Mark IV and here is what I found:

Mark IV:
Cleans - are very clear and sparkly, almost as nice as my Blue Angel or Pro Reverb
Reverb - not bad, but not great. Seems to be lack-luster and unpresent at times
R2 - I could definitely live without this channel. Good crunch, but hardly any sustain.
Lead - Very sick amounts of distortion and sustain, very fat tone.

DC-10:
Cleans - not as sparkly as the IV, but more full and more sustain. Overdrives more easily and smoothly than the IV.
Reverb - more present than the IV, not as good as my Pro Reverb though
Lead - More trebly than the IV, great sustain and tone though.

Overall, I think I prefer my DC-10 more than the IV. It's much easier to dial in a great tone, the footswitch is much smaller, and it seems to sound pretty much the same each time I use it. The IV seems too un-stable tone wise. Everytime I use it, the tone is slightly (sometimes drastically) different. I use the same guitar, cords, picks, etc. each time.

Anybody else have this opinion? Or, am I simply too impatient with the IV?

I think the IV will go up for sale really soon.