need some knowledge.....

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

z28lt16

Reaction score
I'm new here and just purchased a MarkIV used from a buddy of mine who was not using it.

I really like the amp so far. Ive had it a couple weeks now, and i'm just getting acquainted with it.

I am new to tube amps and the question I have right now. Is yesterday while I was playing it I decided to look behind it and look at the tubes. Now I can see the front ones but the back ones are kinda tough too see. While looking at the front ones the far left one was not really bright like the other 3. And as i said I tried looking behind at the back ones but it was hard to tell if those were all lite. Would this indicate a bad tube.

Now I have not cranked this baby yet. Thats what I really need to do. Now would this make a difference as far as tube brightness.

This amp is a A version from the early nineties. Basically I really hope to gain knowledge here.

thanks for any help---dy

You came to the right place!
...but I'm new to tube amps too :D I also have a Mark IV, but I'm in the process of switching from widebody combo to short head.

By the way, the big tubes in the front in are the power tubes and the little ones are preamp tubes.

Mine is a short head I believe. It was converted from a combo. He even gave me the old case that he originally had with the combo.

So yes visual it must be a power amp tube then. How can you see the pre amp tubes. By looking back there its kinda tough.

Good luck with your switch

Dunno - haven't gotten to switching tubes yet. Though I already did loads of research and I know EXACTLY what tubes I'll be swapping mine with when the time comes. So I guess I need to find out the practical aspects of how to swap and get back there by then... :?