MKIII user, what should i use for this....

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

al3d

Reaction score
While i'm new to using the MKIII combo 60w, i think it will need a little help to go where i need it to go. When i get a very deep distortion, i think the amp does'nt like my E sting cause when doing a deep rythme, it sounds awfull. Oh, and i play mostly metal these days, Maiden, ozzy, metallica...that easy listening stuff..:)

Maybe my settings are'nt "right" for now, i mean combination on that thing are just mind blowing realy. But at this stage i was thinking of adding maybe an overdrive or something similar.

Anyone got any tips?...any help is always appriciated.

Generally,when playing at louder levels the bass knob should be kept lower,2-4 at most.If this doesnt solve the bass bombing out,it could be time for new filter caps.

I second the notion of lowering the bass knob to the 2-3 area, also raising the treble to 6-8, and having a tech check the caps if the amp is 10-15 years old. What kind of pickups are you using? I like passives and boosts with my marshall type amps, like the DiMarzio SD or Duncan JB, and actives with marks, EMG81. The actives give me more of that grind with marks. But I want to check out the x2n versions 1 & 2, and MOST DEFINATELY the new METAL blackouts ahb2s that are coming out, with a higher peak resonance freq (1k like livewires) and two switchable output levels.

Thanks guys...i use a strat with hot rails on it and a LP with it's own original pup. thing is at 2 to 4 on the bass level, is just sounds..well...weird..no "feel" to it, i mean metal is all about sounding deep.

What kind of speaker is in the combo? I have an EV in my combo and it sounds huge by itself, but when I need bigger I run it through my 2x12 vert hb with 2 EV's. BTW here's the settings I use on my Mark III Red Stripe

front.jpg