Mesa Express 5:25

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dr_iggi

Reaction score
I am new to tube amps and just recently started my journey with a Traynor 15:50-watt amp.

It is pretty versatile, which I like because I mainly play covers, but way too much power when using the 50-watt output.

I am positive I need something less than 30-watt... otherwise, I am not saturating the tubes enough for the tone I want. However, I play in a trio with a small drum kit and I also need the versatility.

The Express 5:25 appears to be what I need and I would like to get your comments about these amps.

A lot of what I play is gritty clean... so I do need some headroom. However, I figured I can always get a good cab with 12in speakers for the 5:25 if it is missing the headroom I need.

I know the new 5:25 comes with a 12in speaker... but it is also more expensive. Maybe the best alternative is to get the 10in version plus a good-sized 12in cab.

Your thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!

I tried a 5:25 1 x 10 and found it to sound small and boxy compared to the 5:50 1 x 12 and Lonestar Sepecial 1 x 12 that I tried.

I ended up buying the 5:50.

I imagine that the 5:25 1 x 12 will not sound small and boxy at all.

Keep in mind, that all else being equall, a 25 watt amp will be only 3% quieter than a 50 watt amp. Not much.
The 10" speaker in the 5:25 will make it a little quieter than that.

If you plug the 5:25 into a 2 x 12 cabinet, it will probably be louder than a similarly designed and rated 50 watt amp that has 1 x 12 speaker.

In fact a 25 watt amp will be louder than a 50 watt amp if the speaker in the 50 watt amp is more than 3db less effecient.