mesa boogie Mark IV vs Mark V

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LP1981

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Don't know if this topic belongs here, but i was wondering what are the main differences between those amps?

On this site : http://homepage.mac.com/mesaboogie/MarkSeries.html i read that the Mark IV would be an ideal practice amp.
How 'good' is the Mark IV at low volumes?
Since i'm looking for a good sounding amp on low volume (i live in an appartment currently) it would be nice to have an amp that i don't need to crank up like hell like my previous amp (Marshall JCM 900).

Again thanks for your advice (i'm a newbie to Mesa boogie ;) )

greetings!

I can't speak to a Mark V, but the Mark IV is fantastic at low volume. I play mine with my kids sleeping down the hall. No attenuator required.

The only caviot, you have to completely change your settings when you turn a Mark IV up. Not really a problem, but it leads to a great deal of knob tinkering at your first band practice. Be prepared to catch **** from your band mates when you feel the need to tinker. :D

Hi and welcome to the board.

Mark IV is an excellent amp for low volume playing and you can get every tone from mellow cleans to very hard distortion. You don't even need a booster or an attenuator for high gain sounds. You just have to pick up the right tubes and learn to tweak the amp. From this forum you will get all the information you need.

Many people say that you can't get a decent sound from a tube amp unless you crank it up. My opinion is that a working Master Volume will help you very much as the "pre-amp" distortion has a big role in the overall sound. All the recommended settings and information on tubes you will get from the members of this forum. Just tell us what kind of sounds you are after :wink:

Thanks for the replys ;)