Master Vs Output

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to Mark V. I have a Mark V 90 head with Mesa Rec 2x12. I'm needing some help with Tone. Master vs Output is confusing me and could be a huge issue with my tone which I cant seem to dial in to my liking.

I have been running my Master volumes on each mode on Channel 3 at 9 and 10 on Channel 2 (90Watts). I keep the output on 9 for practice volumes. When I rehearse with the band I adjust to 11. However Tone changes and sounds majority of the time like ****. Should I be changing the masters more often than the Output? I'm scared to play live because I dont know what my tone will sound like. Any tips on this would be great!

Give this a try. Turn the "Output" (amp master volume) up to say 10 or 12 O'clock. Then start working with your channel Master Volume and Gain. IMO the amp works better with the "Output" up. It lets the amp breath and lets the power tubes work a little. My experience is the amp seems to be more consistent tone wise and you will be able to use the volume on your guitar to dial saturation. Channel 3 is the highest gain channel. But you will be able to go from sparkly clean to over the top drive with just the volume on your guitar. Also Single coil (Telecasters, Stratocasters and the like) can handle more gain and still get very clean with the guitar volume turned down. Humbucking pickups like on a Les Paul require less gain to clean up with the guitar volume.

Overdrive is not achieved by driving the channel Master into the Output. The amp will sound not so good if the Output is set lower than your channel master volume.