Mark V Tone - Channel Settings for Cover Band

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carpdawg

Reaction score
Hey,

I’m not a professional musician, but I like to play out with some friends of mine. We used to play out about 10 yrs ago and are now getting back into it. We usually buy a few kegs and take donations so people will stick around and listen to us…

We have always played covers (poorly at times) but always had fun…not sure if our audiences had the same experiences.

I bought a new Mark V head about 2 weeks ago and would like to ask some questions about some popular guitar tones. It goes into a 4x12 Rec Cab. I’ve got some Boss pedals such as OD, Chorus, Flange, Delay, etc…

If anyone has any experience with setting tones for the following bands please let me know…I don’t want to have to reinvent the wheel.

Pearl Jam – 10, Vitalogy
Nirvana – Nevermind
Van Halen – Panama – ish, 1st album, Unchained…
STP – Plush, Interstate Love Song, etc
Guns & Roses – Appetite – Sweet Child of Mine, etc…
ZZ Top – La Grange, Pearl Necklace, Tush
Allman Bros – Blue Sky, Ramblin’ Man, One Way Out
Skynard – Sweet Home Ala, Simple Man, Freebird, etc
Red Hot Ch Peppers – Under the Bridge, etc
Neil Young, Powderfinger, Rockin in a Free World, Cortez the Killer, Hey Hey My My, etc…
Foo Fighters – Everlong, etc, Baker Street Cover
Rolling Stones – Sympathy, Start Me Up…
Metallica – we don’t play it out, but AJFA, and MOP…just curious what settings may be good on a Mark V. I know they used Mesas back then…

Also I’m looking for easy songs to learn, that are easy to sing, which have easy bass lines, which are crowd pleasers…If you’ve got any ideas, let me know. I appreciate your response, other than “your set list sucks”….

Thanks

Metallica

Crunch Tone:

Gain - 4:30
Master - 12:00
Presence - 10:00
Treble - 2:45
Middle - 10:45
Bass - 7:45
Output - 12:30
Full Power
90 Watt