Mark V as it relates to Mesa's "troubleshooting" video

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jiveman

Reaction score
I watched that troubleshooting video that Mesa put out (http://mesaboogie.com/news/2010/11/mesa-amplifier-tube-troubleshooting) and I guess I'm not quite 100% clear on how some of those things apply specifically to Mark V. This is probably mainly because I'm new to tube amps in general, so anything tube-related is a new world to me (but I'm learning ;-)). So I figured I'd throw all the questions I have out there and hope that you guys can clarify.

For example, in the video, they test the tubes one by one, starting with ONLY the rectifier tube(s), then adding power tubes (i.e., testing ONLY the rectifier tubes AND a single power tube, and so on). First question, is that ok to do on Mark V (only the rectifier tube + one power tube)? Does it matter if the switches in the front are set to 10W vs. 45 vs. 90W modes? I imagine to test the rectifier tube alone, you'd have to flip the switches to 10W mode, correct? How about when you add the power tubes?

Then... Is it ok to perform these tests WITHOUT the speaker/load plugged in? The manual says NEVER to do that, yet in the video, they "test" the power tubes by turning the power AND standby switches without the speaker cab. Is that because they're only briefly toggling the standby switch?

Preamp tubes... How do you test those on Mark V? They seem to be pretty hard to reach with all the power tubes plugged in. The power tubes DO have to be all in while tap-testing the preamp tubes, correct?