Mark Series speaker history question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cho

Reaction score
I would love to know when certain speakers were used in Mark amps. I have been using Boogie Mark amps since 1991, and they have always had EV 200 Watt or Celestion 90 Watt. But I know that Eminence, Altec and JBL speakers were also used.

Does anyone know what years they offered which models, with which speakers? What were the stock speakers in the Mk I and Mk II amps?

Thanks, in advance!

I don't have any great detail, but I'll get the ball rolling and hopefully others will add/correct as we go along.

JBL D-120 - The speaker he mounted in the Princeton Reverb that started it all
Altec-Lansing 417-8H - The standard speaker in the Mark I and early Mark IIs. Not sure exactly when things changed.
Eminence MS-12 - The standard speaker for the Mark II through IV. Not sure what year they discontinued it.
Electro-Voice EVM-12L - The upgrade option for the MS-12. Not sure when they were discontinued.
Celestion MC-90 - I believe they started offering these as an upgrade starting in the mid 80s on the Mark IIIs.
Celestion Vintage 30 - I believe they started using these around 1991.

One thing to remember is that Mesa has long been a boutique builder. To this day they still build each cab/combo to order and will load your cab with a different speaker if you ask them to.

Mesa also produced a number of 1x15 combos. The Mark II had some sort of JBL and the Mark III had an Electro-Voice EVM-15L. Not sure if there were other options available or if each one was a custom spec'd cab. There were also Mark I and IV 1x15s but I know nothing about them.

i have a Rocket 44 with a restamped Eminence, that say Black Shadow MC-90, but its not like the one i have in my DC-2, the dc one say Celestion but not the rocket one.

cho said: