Mark ll C+ help / information

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buster Leggs

Reaction score
I have an HX head (60/100, no reverb) that I bought a few months back. It' one of my best sounding pluses so I never changed any of the tubes, leaving well enough alone. I just noticed that it only has 3 pre-amp tubes + the PI, no V4 per say
,. I'm no expert but I thought only the 60 waters had that pre-amp tube set up. This is the only one I have with no reverb but my understanding has been that reverb shares half of one of the 4 pre-amp tubes in a 60/100 watt C+. Can someone please tell me that this is the way this amp is supposed to be or is something funky going on here. Thank you in advance for your reply.

Thanks for the reply Joey, good to know I didn't buy a freak. How dose that work, What are V1 -V3 assigned to. THANKS

Look at the tube task chart in the manual. http://www.mesaboogie.com/manuals/Mark%20II-C%20Manual%20-%20Maintenance%20&%20Repair.pdf

Remove the reverb from V3 and V4, then combine the Lead Drive into the two triodes of V3. Quite simple, don't you think?

Thanks Joey, I like the fact that the lead drive amp is on 1 tube instead of half on 2 tubes. Even though it sounds good already I'm curious what a NOS would sound like in V3. Thanks again for your help.

Late 1960's RFT ECC83 12AX7 works well. http://www.tubemonger.com/12AX7_ECC83_ECC803S_E83CC_7025_CV4004_CV492_CV4035_M8137_s/6.htm?searching=Y&sort=9&cat=6&show=10&page=1&search=%20RFT