Mark IV playeer in need of some help

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lean

Reaction score
I've had this amp for almost 2 weeks. It's about a year old and I got it off of somebody from ebay. Luckily it has a warranty so I know if I have any problems it can be fixed. My question is this: I do realize that tube amps generally are noisy by nature but everytime I play my lead channel I get the worst squealing and low end noise (a hum). I have my master level at 4 and my output level is at 1 to 1.5. I'm playing a les paul through it. Is there anything I can do to stop these horrible sounds? I dont know what to do for live situations let alone recording.

Preamp tube problem.. sounds like one of your tubes has gone microphonic.

That is definitely not a normal operational sound so don't worry about recording/live.. easy fix :)

Cool, do I check out the bad one by tapping on it like power tubes? Also I asked someone a little while back about more distortion for my 2nd channel and it was recommended that I get jj83c's (I think) Do I need to change all of them or just some of them to get the best possble tone, or does it matter?
Thanks for your help by the way, this site is a godsend!

Lean said:
Cool, do I check out the bad one by tapping on it like power tubes? Also I asked someone a little while back about more distortion for my 2nd channel and it was recommended that I get jj83c's (I think) Do I need to change all of them or just some of them to get the best possble tone, or does it matter?
Thanks for your help by the way, this site is a godsend!