Mark IV & MESA 2x12 Vertical Cab.......

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Ok, I'm moving out of state and due to lack of space I had to get rid of my 4x12 cabs.
I just picked up a new vertical 2x12 that has the V30's in it. I have yet to test it with my Mark IV but did test it with a
Mark V in the store on ch 3 set to the "Mark IV" and then tweaked similar to my settings. (The Mark V is kick ***!)
This is my first time playing through Vintage 30's (I am used to the G12T-75's in my Marshall cabs) and am not sure
I like them.
I know I have lost some low end going from a 4x12 to the 2x12, but this 2x12 is a bit larger than most as it's only a H difference of 5" and W difference of 5 1/2" of a 4x12 Rect Slant cab. I'm thinking the V30 just isn't punchy enough?
What would be a good alternative? I play metal to rock.
I was thinking the EV12L-Classic reissue. Isn't that the same speaker that MESA used to use? Anyone have experience with the EV and a Mark IV?

I have your exact setup and use celestion G12t-100's. It's a ballsier g12t-75. Sounds awsome for rockl and metal.

ryjan said:
I have your exact setup and use celestion G12t-100's. It's a ballsier g12t-75. Sounds awsome for rockl and metal.

That's an idea - I was thinking about putting G12T-75's in it but was fixated on the EV. I have heard good things about the G12T-100.

I had the same feeling about the V30's when I tried them again. I used to like them but after playing the EVM12L for a while nothing else compares. The V30's sounded muddy, muffled like there was a blanket of the cab.
Try a Thiele cabinet with EVM's great low end and clarity.