Mark II with possibly faulty power transformer

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello--I have a Mark II. Recently, I started playing it and it sounded fine. After about 15 minutes of playing there was some kind of surge of power. The power transformer started smoking (or at least I think it was the power transformer that was smoking) and then the fuse blew.

So this afternoon I removed the power transformer and I connected it to the AC. It did not smoke. I checked the red and green wires and found AC voltages ranging from 290VACrms and 35VACrms. I don't know what each tap is supposed to be. This transformer has the code MESA 60-162318 EIA 606-829 imprinted on it.

My question is, could it be that I have a faulty power transformer? Could the reason it didn't smoke after I bench tested it is because I had no load on it? Does anyone have any experience with this problem? I just want to make sure whether it is the transformer that may be the problem or something else before I pony up for a new one.

Thanx

Did you check the power tubes? That's the most likely reason there was smoke, as well as the popped fuse.

Could be a filter cap as well...

No, haven't checked the power tubes. I'll have to reinstall the transformer and unfortunately I didn't keep track of the red wires before snipping them. :cry: Well, live and learn.

Anyone know which red wires go where? I know one is for the chassis, that's easy enough, but the other three..........?????

Your amp started smoking so the first thing you did was remove the Power transformer???

Why don't you put down the soldering iron and take it to someone who knows how to diagnose amps?