LSS - sustain on leads

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok, love the amp, etc. I know not all amps do all things well.

Playing lead on the LSS, yeah, it sings.

Sometimes I would like some sustain on the notes.

Tried the 808 reissue (was using it with Fenders before), and while it does the OD thing, still not getting the sustain I would like sometimes.

The drive channel with the drive on, doesn't really seem to do this, or I haven't figured it out, yet.

Am I expecting too much from the amp, or has someone dealt with this.

Frankly, I hate using any pedals in front of it.

Would changing to JJs make a difference because I would really crank up the drive without the mud?

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination but.
IMHO check out the setup on your guitar i.e. strings (Gage and composition), string height, pickup adjustment and intonation pick attack may also be a factor.
tone/sustain is the sum of the parts involved.
Best of luck

try setting gain, drive & treble to 9 o'clock & the presence down to 3. This should do it.

good luck

Sustain is highly dependent on the guitar and types of pickups that you are using. My LSC sustains for days with my PRS McCarty, but not as much with my Fender Stratocaster. What kind of guitar and pickups are you using?

Use strat, lp standard, and ibanez artcore jazzbox.

Yeah, i expect that strat will have least amount of sustain on its own, but when i plug it into my marshall valvestate (valve preamps, the rest is transistor-waste) it will sustain for days as well.

So, I know amp, or amp settings, figure into the mix.

Someone asked me about strings, that might make difference. Using DRs, nickel, 10s on all of my guitars. Someone also asked about string height. The higher they are the more, or less, sustain?