LP Makeover

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gitapik

Reaction score
Hey. It's been awhile, but I'm still alive and kickin'!

My first "real" electric was a '69 LP Gold Top. I got it very cheap because it was really, really beat up. But it played and sounded great and I was very poor...so I just got into it and had fun.

The changes it's seen since I started being able to afford them are too numerous to mention and kind of off topic. Point is that I put it away in favor of single coils and acoustics until very recently. I started playing it and realized I had a real gem, so I took it in to the excellent techs at Main Drag Music in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. New Seymour Duncan "Pearly Gates" pups, removal of a preamp (now the middle toggle's a phase switch), and some other changes. They did such good work:

IMG_2625_zps0d52aa0c.jpg

Now, to put it all in focus to this site: you should hear this ax through my IIB. The combination of the two was always great but these Pearly Gates pickups really step it up a few notches. I'm floored. Clean and Lead. The sounds are incredible!!!

Anyway: just thought I'd share how happy I am to be reunited with a very old friend who's looking, sounding, and feeling great.

Nice!
Nothing like humbuckers through a Mark series amp.
And you can't go wrong having those humbuckers in a '69 LP!
Congrats on being "reunited" with your old 'gold' top!

gts said:
Nice!
Nothing like humbuckers through a Mark series amp.
And you can't go wrong having those humbuckers in a '69 LP!
Congrats on being "reunited" with your old 'gold' top!
Yep, yep, and thanks.