If there is any reason...

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dcow90

Reaction score
for me not to buy a Dual Rectifier Roadster 2x12 Combo speak now or forever hold your peace.

I'm a young guitarist with many years of technical and tonal development ahead of me. I play a Fender American Telecaster w/ the S1 switch (I also play some others but nothing compares). I'm the lead guitarist in a band that plays mainly John Mayer, 90s rock, and similar genre covers. We're beggining to write some original material as well. The singer plays a Taylor 814 with a Fishman acoustic amp. The bassist plays a Fender Areodine through a Brighiner 30w amp. I play through a piece of sh!t Crate 120w 2x12 no effects. I'm way overdue for a real amp..

When I say young I don't mean without experience. I've/We've played many shows and have more to come (one on Saturday in fact). Although we play mainly the stuff I mentioned I play a much wider variety on my own time. I enjoy anything from classic to hard rock and love scales and soloing.

I'm interested in the Dual Rectifier Roadster b/c I believe it encompasses all the styles I currently use or could ever imagine playing. What can't it do..?? I've looked at the Stillettos and Lonestars but from what I believe the roadster is far more versatile.. which is exactly what I'm looking for, something that won't limit my tone to a certain style yet still complement my telecaster without impeding it's potential.

Have I made a good decision or would you recommend a different amp family (maybe Lonestar..)?

Would anyone recommend something other than a mesa?

Is there anything about the Roadster in particular I should know before buying it?