How do you use the Raw and Vintage modes??

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elpelotero

Reaction score
Clean, Pushed, and Modern are obvious...

How do you personally use the Raw and Vintage modes on your Rectifiers?? Im fairly new at this game and was wondering. Settings welcome w/ a description of the sound. Thanks!

I use the Vintage mode on Channel 2 quite a bit. To me, it sounds very Marshally. Less bottom and less of a mid scoop.

Elpelotero said:
Clean, Pushed, and Modern are obvious...

How do you personally use the Raw and Vintage modes on your Rectifiers?? Im fairly new at this game and was wondering. Settings welcome w/ a description of the sound. Thanks!

I'm very new to Mesas, just got a RectoVerb (dumb name, great amp). I seem to be staying in Vintage mode a lot -

gain between 10 and 3 (o'clock)
treble about 12
mid about 8
bass around 9
presence 11 to 1

This is what seems "right" to me. Of course, that's just me. Gain varies on the guitar and what I'm playing. For vintage crunch with a Les Paul, I keep the gain on the low side and up the mids a bit. For harder edge stuff with the SG, gain it up to 3 and keep the mids low, bass to taste always.

The Raw mode I usually set up mostly the same way with more mids, and a bit more treble for a neck pickup bluesy sound.

I'm still learning the Modern mode and Pushed. Although from what I've found so far there's a Whole Lotta Rosie in Pushed mode just wating for me.

I did so much research before buying this amp, I must have read the manual 4 or 5 times before actually trying the amp. I knew how the controls worked together and that is key to getting good sounds out of it. There's really good advice in there!

~fredster

I have a rect-o-verb and never use raw. I don't like it, it's not usable for me (yet)