Help me pick the right Mesa for me

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Koreth

Reaction score
Warning: N00b rambling ahead.
Greetings everyone. I've been lurking here off and on for a while now. As covered in this thread, I did follow the advice given and picked up a better axe than the Wa-Mart special I started playing with (which I've since sold). I've been fooling around with my Peavey VK112 combo, and the clean channel is great, but I'm starting to feel like something is lacking in the lead channel. It could just very well be my imagination, playing, the amp's tubes, speaker, my guitars pickups or any combination thereof, but I'm thinking its time to start looking at a Mesa. Even if I don't pick one up for another 6 months or a year because of having to save up, I'd like to start collecting data and opinions on Mesa's various products now, so I can pick up the right amp for me the first time, hopefully.

Thus far, the only Mesa I've played which I know I liked was that Single Rectoverb 1x12 combo with an additional 1x12 open back cab (pretty sure it had a C90 in it). The red channel had a delicious aggressiveness to it. However, I've also been considering the tones of some of my heroes (Hetfield's chugging rythyms on Lightning and Puppets, Petrucci's singing leads, etc.) and realize that these tones didn't come from Rectos but Mark series amps. I've not had an opportunity to play a Mark series, I've not been able to locate a used one I could demo, but to be fair, I haven't been looking for one, either. So I'm wondering, should I be looking at a Recto or a Mark?