Help me choose…..

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Janglin_Jack

Reaction score
I have used and owned many Mesas over
The years. I have an opportunity to take my pick of three amps. Probably not a bad choice among them but one I have no experience with. I play classic rock, rock and blues. I generally use a single channel vintage Fender and use pedals for all flavors of gain etc. I have a shot to get a small Mark IV head, a Lonestar Special 1x12 combo or 1x12 Express 5:25. I have no experience with the Special but I have owned the other 2. Thoughts on these amp choices? My buddy is not local and will ship me the amp so no chance of try before I buy. Like I said, two of them I know what I am getting but intrigued with the Special.

Thanks in advance
Mike

Just one man's opinion... have a LSS (my main live amp) V:90, IIC+ and a Stiletto. Got a buddy who has a IV, get to play that whenever the opportunity presents itself :) To my ears the IV has a similar "Mark" feel as the IIC+ / V. The gain structure of the Marks are very different then the LSS. They not only have much more gain on tap, but have more bite on the upper end especially on the lead chans. The LSS in comparison is very smooth and fat. Definitely less gain but takes pedals really well and the cleans are lush and deep.

If you're experience is the Fender and using pedals for different shades of gain the LSS maybe the more familiar choice, but it's inherently bassy. Running a GEQ in the loop to slightly trim 80Hz takes the blanket off. The LSS el84s also factor in vs the 6L6s of the Express and IV.

Tough choice between those 3, they are all great amps, just different in many ways.