help, i'm a mesa noob

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BoogieDown

Reaction score
I'm thinking about going balls to the wall, selling all my gear and buying a mesa. I've heard almost all good things about these things and I think there's probably one that has the sounds I'm after, but there are so many models out there (current production and gone but not forgotten discontinued), I'm a bit lost.

The sounds I like are the "chugga-chuggah" (hehe, that sounds like a dance from the 50's now), Prince's dirty funk rhythm sound, Shawn Lane's smooth lead sound (kinda like satriani's, but better), and sparkly spanky clean sounds like a blackface.

My price range is around $1000, and I need to get something 50-60 watts or less (or something that has one of those nifty power switches). I've never had an amp head before, so I dont own any cabinets (i suppose that;s a limitation). I'm planning on going out tomorrow to test some mesa's out, but I don't want to go into it as a noob. Is there some used stuff i should check out? I've heard a little about the F-series, but its been replaced by the express. Was there like a huge technnological advance between the two? Can either of them get (any of) the sounds I'm interested in?

I like the 5 to 25 watt power switch in the express 5:25, but can 25 keep up with a band in a rehersal with no mic or would i need the 50? Does the F series have the power switch too? Can I use an extension cab with the 5:25?

(my apologies for being a noob, it wont last long)

BoogieDown said:
I'm thinking about going balls to the wall, selling all my gear and buying a mesa. I've heard almost all good things about these things and I think there's probably one that has the sounds I'm after, but there are so many models out there (current production and gone but not forgotten discontinued), I'm a bit lost.