FORUM NEWBIE W/ JUST AQUIRED DC-3 HEAD

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caucajun

Reaction score
HOWDY Y'ALL!

NEW GUY HERE.........i just swapped my ol' seymour duncan convertible for a DC-3 head. i have alot of questions about it........could anybody link me to a history and identification post or blog re: "DC-3's" ?

i'm not a newbie to boogies........this is my 4th.......i think.........i've had 2 mk iii's, and a DC-3 combo in the past.........oh, yeah.......and a kitty hawk and an acoustic brand MKIIC knockoff.

how do i tell if it's an "A" or "B" series? and what does THAT mean? is A better than B? vice-versa?

thanks in advance!

Hello and welcome. I joined the forum not too long ago and one of the 1st things I did was read all of the established threads. They tend to sway to other subtopics and there is a ton of information to be had. I have put off another amp purchase thanks to this. This is a great site and you can learn a lot quick. There are a few on this forum that seem to really know about these amps. Good luck with your DC.

Congrats on the new amp! I love my shorthead DC-3.

The B version is the update to the A version. The B version has more headroom, better reverb, metal switches, no channel LEDs, toggle switch for GEQ assignment (instead of knob), and footswitch input on front. I might have missed one or two in there, but that's the majority at least.

I recommend doing the output volume mod and the serial FX loop mod as well.

well! i'm glad to hear i "got the better version".

what's up w/ the verb tank danglin' thru a hole in the bottom of the head cab like an old man's n*ts hangin' down thru the leg openin' of his draws? (how's that for colour?).

caucajun said:
well! i'm glad to hear i "got the better version".