First-time Mesa owner! Questions about retubing

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mindabsence

Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first post here. After lurking for a few months and dreaming of owning a Mesa someday, I just picked up a used series 1 rectifier solo 50 head and a 2x12 recto cab - Both are so good of condition they look like they should be on a display floor somewhere still. Making as crappy of money as i do at the age of 16, I consider it a pretty decent purchase that I'll probably hold onto forever (no more going through crappy solid state amps every few months because I never liked the sound I got from them)

Anyways, I have a question about tubing the amp as I'm very new in this field (First tube amp in my 11 years of playing).
The owner I bought it off of said the tubes are over a year old with some fairly heavy usage on them. I'd like to save up a little more and hopefully retube it in a couple months - just to get it good as new for it's new life with me here.

I asked this question in a local musician forum and everyone's telling me mixed results, so I figured I'd take it here which I should have just done in the first place.

It's about biasing. From what I understand on the mesa boogie site, I can just change pre/power amp tubes without the need to pay a technician to bias the amp everytime? I'll be using the same Mesa tubes again whenever I decide to re-do it.

A fellow friend who own's a mesa said he's never biased, through many tube changes, and he has no problems. The guys on this other forum are telling me I NEED to bias it EVERY change or I'll risk blowing the output transformer or something?

Anyways, educate me on tube changes for this head please? I'll forever appreciate it, and probably learn a lot.

Thanks guys, I look forward to posting here more!