First post, amps question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello there. This is my first post so I will try to make it a good one.

My name is Zach and I have been playing guitar for around 10 years. I currently have an acoustic, a POD XTL with a carvin PA, and a custom made 2x12 cab with old sheffields in it. I have been playing USA jackson for most of the years but I have sold them because I am getting married in 18 days and it costs a lot of money to exist.

I have a friend at guitar center who hooked me up with a great deal on a new guitar (EBMM Lukather in black) and I will be picking it up after my honeymoon in July. I need a good amp to go with it.

I play mostly progressive/tech metal. Lots of distorted and clean chords, pinch harmonics, low end chunky stuff, and dual guitar harmonies. Something like Dream Theater, Extol, and Becoming the Archetype. I am wondering what mesa, if any, would work well? I am hoping to still use the XTL for fx. I would be needing a 2x12 cab (easier to carry around and they still sound great. I can mic it live) and either a rack preamp/poweramp or a regular head. If mesa stuff does not work well, I may still go with a mesa poweramp and cab cuz I know I can get it at a same price.

It is nice to meet you all and I look forward to hearing what you have to say.

Bless,

Zach

Your probably looking for something in the rectifier line. Start looking at a Rectoverb and you can go up from there, depending on your budget and needs.

I just bought a used 97' Dual Rectifier, its lead channels are awesome. Blows my DSL50 Lead out of the water..

The DR's clean is nice .. its got some good mids, and it works well for me so far un-touched .. if I try and add a Overdrive pedal to it, I just cant coax a good sound from it. It is very close to my DSL's Crunch channel, with a little less gain. Kinda Plexi'ish.