Express Review

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guitarchris76

Reaction score
I have had my Express 5:50 2x12 now for about three months and after what I have now dubbed the Mesa learning curve I have to say that this is an incredible amp. I need to state the obviuos first: this is not a Recto the literature may say that the burn channel gets you in that territory but it is the extreme outer territory. That being said this amp can give most players all of the gain they will want and the clean channel is gorgeous. I came from a Crate VFX5212 (one of the USA made ones) and it was a great amp but it was time to upgrade. I play for my own enjoyment at home and on occasion with friends and play many different styles of music (note: I have been playing for 20 years and have been in many bands from Death Meatal to Blues and if I must say so am no slouch when it comes to playing) but wanted an amp that was very versatile. I had looked at the Marshall triple lead the Carvin Legacy, Peavey 6505 and Fender Supersonic. It gave me all of the Supersonic tones and then some and in my opinion in a better amp. The music I play is 95% instrumental stuff my own originals and them some Vai, Satriani and Malmsteen and the SRV, Carlton and some country stuff with friends. This amp will take care of all of those sounds nicely with no effort at all. If I wanted to get an amp for real Heavy tones I would not have gone with this, but for a versatile array of sounds I think this is the amp to go with.

The "recto turf" comment in the literature I think has caused a lot of owners to buy them and then swap them out for a Rectifier of some kind if that's what they are looking for.