Electra Dyne w 25w Greenbacks

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

toneocaster

Reaction score
Greetings Y'all,

I'm a newbie here and was lucky enough to find what I think is a one of a kind Electra Dyne. An old friend of mine who is from my hometown of Amarillo Tx. worked for Mesa for years and was given an Electra Dyne as a parting gift. The amp is covered in green tolex with a tan handle and corners and came loaded with Celestion 25w Greenbacks. I simply love this amp but am a bit worried that I'll fry the speakers if I use it in the 90w setting. I am really blown away by this amp and would love to hear y'alls input if you think the speakers will fry?? Thanx in advance for all the help and I look forward to being a member! :p

We need pictures!

I'm betting EL34's and the greenbacks probably sound pretty sweet. No idea about frying the speakers though. Sorry can't help you there.

toneocaster said:
I actually have some cool pics but couldn't figure out how to post them?? Help please! :)

You need to have the pictures someplace you can link to them online (Like Photobucket for instance). Once you do, when you post, above this box is a list of different things, the last three being [*], Img and URL.

Click the Img button, this will create an IMG tag in the body of the message. Then paste your link, then click the Img button again and it will produce a closing IMG tag.

Mesa4.jpg

Mesa2.jpg

Really sweet!
You are right, that amp could blow those speakers straight outta there if you aren't careful. You might want a power soak of some kind, just a 3db or 6db drop will dramatically cut the wattage.