Effects chain questions

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XevKai

Reaction score
Hails all,

I recently got back into using foot pedal effects and I'm kinda looking for ideas on how to go about setting them up.

Right now I have:
Fulltone OCD
Dunlop Crybaby
Ibanez SC10 Chorus
Arion SAD-1 Delay
Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
EH Holy Grail Reverb
ISP Decimator

Right now Im using them mainly inline but I can't hep wondering if some of these effects would sound better in the loop, especially the delays. Whats your opinions? I've got no experience with the effects loop at all so im kinda lost.

Hi Xev,

Guitar into...
CryBaby
Fulltone
(Decimator)

Then into the input on the front of the amp.
From the loop send into...

Chorus
(Decimator)
Reverb
Boss Delay
Arion Stereo Delay

Then into the effects return on the back of the amp.

Put the Decimator in one of the two places I indicated. Don't put it after the delay or reverb.
What amp do you have (parallel or series loop, depending on your answer)?

Strat

I'd make just one correction to Stratocaster's recommendations. Put the delay before the reverb in the loop. Reverb is always the last effect in the chain. You don't want your reverberations to get delayed so that you hear them repeatedly. You want your delays to sound like they're in the same acoustic space as the original guitar signal, just as would occur naturally, and for the reverberations to fade off realisticly, not start over again with each iteration of delay. Minor thing perhaps, but it makes a noticeable difference in the realism of the sound, especially in recording contexts.

Nice catch, Chris.
I've seen it both ways, but knew intuitively something about the reverb before the delay just didn’t seem ‘natural’.

Strat