Demo of a song with MKIV

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrd

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I recorded one of my songs this morning with my MKIV. I've had this amp for about 3 months and I'm still learning how to tweak it for the best results. This is quite an old song of mine, still a demo though. The drums are (for the most part) a repeating loop that is just there to keep time for me. I need to come up with some lead bits and flesh out the song more, as well. But this is the basic progression/structure of it.

I ran the MKIV through a 2x12 recto cab, and I have an old TS-8 between my guitar and the amp. Mic'd up wth a Sennheiser e609 and some unknown mic that I got off a buddy at work. Ran it through my 20 channel Mackie into Cubase.

Let me know whatcha think of the song, tone, anything.

I didn't get to turn the amp up too loud to record this since there are other people home and I don't wanna piss them off too much. I ran the lead channel on full power with ouput at 6 and channel volume at about 1.5 so the power tubes weren't really juicin' as good as I like 'em too.

Enough babble, here's the link:

http://members.shaw.ca/mrduplicity/tank.mp3 (7.60MB)

Tone sounds really good. The song is pretty cool too. Things seemed to work pretty good although it gets a little repetitive but adding lead parts or vocals or even some changed up drums would help that out. Very good though. Would you mind checking my stuff out http://forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?t=16141. Thanks.

cool! song is like a modern trash metal, or something, i like it :wink:

tone is pretty good, altho it's somewhat on the thin side, i dunno where you put the mic, but i think that it would sound better if you put it a bit to the edge of the cone, this sounds like it was dead center