DC5 Rhythm Channel Problem

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eeviac

Reaction score
I usually use the pull boost on the rhythym channel for my main distorted chunk.

It usually sounds fine but last night while playing i noticed a sudden drop in the amount of gain on this channel.

It seemed to suddenly sound 'choked' and loose a bit of life. Chords started to decay much quicker and loose sustain - still sounds the same again tonight.

It doesnt seem to be affecting the lead channel though at least not that i can notice.

Im new to tube amps and having having read the manual and done a search here im none the wiser.

I got the amp on ebay recently and was told it had been retubed in the last year. The tubes appear to be stock mesas and look okay. It has started to hum a little recently though on the lead channel for some reason.

Anyone got any ideas?

I'm no expert but I have both a DC-5 and DC-10. If it were me I'd start by using a known good tube and replace V1, try it, if no change then put old tube back and do the same for V4. Those seem to be the preamp tubes that work with the clean channel.

Whenever I get a new used tube amp I almost always change all the tubes so I have a good base line. Especially if I'm having any trouble with it that may be tube related. The tubes may only be a few months old but if the past owner didn't care for it or turned it on without having it in standby the tubes could already be shot or on their way out.

Could be the tubes, either power or preamp. I'd buy a new set of tubes and try them out. Preamp tubes - replace one tube at a time. Power tubes - stick two new ones in.

I'm sure someone with a bit more knowledge will step in though :)

MJ Slaughter said: