Boutique hype & the real deal

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdog11

Reaction score
First of all, I'm new to this forum. This is my first post here. After a short stindt with digital modeling(although it has it's purpose) I'm back to tube tone again. I've been playing for 23 years and have owned many amps.
I've owned two Boogies DC-5 and DR. I recently went on what my bass player and I call AMP QUEST 2005. I told him I will be buying a keeper for life. Although we will alway make additions to the family.
I tried this week a Badcat, a Marshall TSL 60, a THD Flexi and a Rectoverb. Hands down no question who the winner of this weeks quest.
The Mesa Rectoverb. Could'nt believe what I was hearing on the raw mode. Classic Rock revisited. And the clean was so fun doing the blues thing(Hendrix etc...). It was also cheaper than the others by a long shot. So folks, when you think someone has got the upper hand on
your tone. Just look to your own gear and really listen before you drop
$3000 for that MAGIC boutique amp. After all, who's been doing it longer
and who is the GRANDFATHER of boutique. Randall Smith. Case closed.
Happy Days Again
Jim

I think a lot of the boutique hype has something to do with: "I got more money than you got. And I have a more expensive amp, so that makes me a better player". I don't know, the only boutique amp I might consider buying would be a Diezel vh4, but I still think it is way too expensive, and I know it would make me sound like crap. But I love that distortion it has... 8)

Your right about the original bootik - "dam that amp's got a mess o boogie!"
Anyway with their build quality and price, many Mesa' s are bootik in my opinion.