Amp Talk

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Atomic.Sheep

Reaction score
Hi guys, Ive been playing for 6 months so I am a big noob when it comes to amps. I've got a lot of questions some of which are a little embarassing.

Here is the first (embarassing) one:

1.) what is a pre-amp?

Btw i've read Randall Smith's document on "how amps work" and I understood most of it so I don't mind detailed and complex answers if this is indeed needed. (contradictory to my lack of knowledge yeh I thought so too, but its true)

Here are the links for it if you've missed this on the Mesa site
http://www.mesaboogie.com/US/Smith/MESA_Class_A_Booklet.pdf
http://www.mesaboogie.com/US/Smith/ClassA-WebVersion.htm

A preamp is intended to provide additional voltage gain of the signal before it gets passed on to the power amplifier, and tends to "color" your sound a bit more than the main power section (this could be debated).

A rack is simply something to put your equipment in... ie rack mounted effects, or rack mounted head vs on the floor or a head on top of cabinet design..

For example Petrucci's new rig:
tot_rig_front_closeup.jpg

The middle part being the rack mounted equipment :)

Below is a preamp and a power amp (both marked MESA);

completed_rack.JPG

The unit on top with all the knobs is the preamp. It boosts the signal from insturment level to line level. It also processes the signal by applying gain and EQ.

The unit on the bottom is the power amp. It boosts the signal from line to speaker level.

When you combine a preamp and a power amp into a single unit, it's called a Head;

Tri-recto-black-Lg.jpg

And when you combine a head (preamp and power amp) and a speaker(s) into a single unit, it's called a Combo;

RecVerbcom.gif

Yeh thax, that was great, a lot of things are now making sense. Just a quick (I think) question before we move on;