using another amp as an effects processor with the dual rec

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

metal_man12

Reaction score
I have a Johnson jm150, and as anyone that owns one knows, the effects on the amp are as good if not better then any stomp box... now heres my idea.

I want to take a cable from the send jack of the dual recs fx loop, and plug that into the input of the johnson(its a combo), then take a cable from one its outputs which is 4 ohms(its setup up like a cab and head, you can disconnect the speakers, etc) and send that through the boogies fx return jack, thus extracting the johnsons effects and coupling them with the dual recs awsome tone. Is this safe? Will it work?

thanks

i'm not a pro, others will chime in, but as a start i'd say no, simply because you are utilizing two preamps at once and i've never heard of this.if the amp was ONLY efx you got the right idea.

Nope! Thats like sending the Slave Out of your amp back to the Effects Return! Can you say Feedback Loop? Nice squeal! :?

No, it's not like sending the slave out back to the return, because the output you plan on sending back to the Recto is powered. That would be destructive.

Only connect speakers to speaker jacks or you could damage something on the receiving end.

You could try using the effects send on the JM if its post internal effects. Otherwise you would need to find an XLR->1/4" unbalanced cable which would do what you want but you might have to adjust input/output levels.

Mr_You said:
Only connect speakers to speaker jacks or you could damage something on the receiving end.

You could try using the effects send on the JM if its post internal effects. Otherwise you would need to find an XLR->1/4" unbalanced cable which would do what you want but you might have to adjust input/output levels.