Traixis advice and version information?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monsta-Tone

Boogie Supporter
Reaction score
I'm seriously considering picking up a Triaxis. I have always wanted one, but just never really had the money.

I just got a G-System. I love the FX, but it doesn't really like my DC-5 all that much, even after reading the White Pages and countless hours of tweaking levels.

I'm either going to sell the G or get a Triaxis!

I have a few questions for the gurus here:
1. If I am using a Triaxis with a Mesa power amp (or my DC-5 loop Return), can I get the same dynamics that an amp has?
- I am not that technical of a player and rely on the amp's ability to relay subtle nuances.

2. Which version of the Triaxis should I get? Fat, Non-Fat, Recto, etc.?
- Tones I am looking for are stellar Fender like cleans. Great medium gain bluesy sounds. Crunchy rhythm tones for heavier music (Incubus, Rush, etc.), and searing lead tones with gobs of gain and sustain.
- Note clarity is a must with high gain. My band plays a lot of odd chords with tons of distortion and I want to hear every note. I realize that this is also related to EQ and Gain settings, but some amps and preamps just get muddy, I don't want that.

3. What is the depth of the Triaxis? I have noticed from pictures that it is really deep. I would want to make sure I got a rack that it could fit in.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I did a search of the forum, but there is just way too much to weed through.
I thought about getting a Recto pre because I love Recto tones, but I need more than 2 channels and if I'm going to bite the bullet and build another rack, I want as much flexibility as I can get.

Monsta-Tone said:
I have a few questions for the gurus here:
1. If I am using a Triaxis with a Mesa power amp (or my DC-5 loop Return), can I get the same dynamics that an amp has?