Subway D-800 w/ Active 5 String Bass Question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DRG14

Reaction score
I've been playing Boogie guitar amps for over 30 years, so when my son decided he wanted to play bass, I confidently bought him a brand new Subway D-800 with a Subway 15 speaker cab.

The problem is that the amp seems to distort easily when trying to crank it up using his Schecter 5 string with active pickups, especially when playing the low B string. We of course made sure to set the front toggle to active and set the speaker impedance to the 4/8 OHM setting. Sorry for my ignorance, but I really had expected this thing to rattle the walls with a nice and loud clear tone considering that it's a 400 watt amp.

If anyone with a similar setup could offer advice or share their experiences, I'd appreciate it very much!

The D-800 is sort of similar to the TT-800 with obvious differences.

My active 5-strings are only 9V units. However, they can push the amp into clipping the power stage and that did not sound all that great. I had to ask a few questions in some of the Mesa Boogie bass players clubs on facebook. I only got just brand references but nothing else. It was a good start though. Found the Darkglass Hyper luminal Bass compressor. Nice and transparent but will cut or compress the stronger signals to keep the preamp happy. When you use it with the passive modes (assuming you can turn it off) it will only limit the peak signals if they reach the limit. Now I can run my 5 stings and active 4-string, set the high gain, deep and bright boost switches to on without forcing the power amp into its limit mode. Here is reference for the compressor.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/HyperLuminal--darkglass-hyper-luminal-bass-compressor-pedal