RK @ 50 watts -- 'usable' at home?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RichW

Reaction score
First off; apologies if this seems a bit of a mind dump, because it is. :lol: Been thinking about this for the past few days and figured I'd check if you guys could help me out with your opinion/knowledge.

After considering to buy a used Mark III, I ditched that idea because I figured I want something with a little more options (channels etc.). Right now my prime two choices are either a new Mark IV, or the new RK II--and the RK II has my preference because I really dig the aggressive and thick recto rhythm tones.

Here is my situation: I'm a student and live right beside the university in a small apartment--the plan is to keep my small Vox practice amp there, so I can have a decent tone on low volume levels. I'd keep the new Mesa amp in my parents' house, since it's bigger and there are no wall-to-wall neighbours, meaning I'd be able to play at volumes a little higher than 'bedroom' levels.

But still, I'd prefer not to play at gig-level volume, obviously. Now, my dad claims he's called Mesa and they told him that the RK was absolutely not suited for at-home use, and the Mark IV was, because you could set the power amp wattage to 30. But then I thought: you can switch the RK to 2x 6L6 or EL34's as well, which would be 50 watts, and the volume difference between 30 and 50 isn't that big. Also, from what I've read, the Mark IV is a bit 'cleaner' in nature, so you'd need to saturate the amp a bit more to get a dirty sound--as well as that the Mark series amps are supposed to be loud.

So I suppose the question would be: what would you recommend? Is the Mark IV really better suited for at home use, or would I be able to get some really sweet distorted tones out of the RK II without crumbling the garage walls? How does the RK sound, using 2x 6L6 or EL34?