Noisy DC-2 - Need Help

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

korngold

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I'm a forum noob, but I've had my DC-2 for about 6 months. I have a noise issue with the amp--i'm getting a humming/buzzing noise (kind of a combination) when I use the amp. When its on with no input, I just get the typical tube amp "hiss". But, if I increase the guitar level to 10, I get a rather loud buzzing noise through the speaker. The buzzing also varies with the amount of gain (more gain, louder buzz). The sound from the speaker is useable and I can still get by in a band situation, however the buzzing noise is constantly present through the effects loop and headphones. I'd really like to use this amp for recording, but this noise makes it impossible.

I had the amp put in a new cabinet a few months back, and it's been happening ever since. I do have new EL84 output tubes, but I haven't messed with/replaced the preamp tubes, primarily because I don't know what they're all for. There are 6 tubes (looks like they are all 12ax7)--I'm assuming 3 for the clean, 3 for the distortion channel, but I'm not sure which is which, and if I need to replace 1, some or all.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Be gentle, I'm kind of a tube noob. 8)

BTW--the sound out of the speaker is more than useable and still has the awesome DC-2 clean & tons of drive in the gain channel. So, it seems like its working fine. . . just that darn hum/buzzing I can't seem to get rid of.

Thanks!

Does this happen in both channels?

Have you tried a different guitar?

Different cords?

It is possible that one of your Preamp Tubes is going bad. If you know when the amp makes this hum, then you can narrow it down to a source.

Here is a link to the Owner's Manual. It should tell you which tubes do what.

http://www.mesaboogie.com/manuals/Studio%20Cal%20DC-2.pdf