New proud owner of a Mark IV ;)

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SlayermanGR

Reaction score
Hi everybody!
I am new to the Mesa family and to this amazing Boogie board!
From yesterday I own a Mark IV, it's my first tube amp after 9 years of guitar playing so I am pretty excited about this!

Just a couple of questions though:

I am running the amp with tweed power, simul-class, pentode,harmonics but unfortunately at a very low volume (between 1 and 2)!
So my question is, if I raise the output volume enough will there be a significant increase in the amount of distortion I listen (because of power amp clipping for example?)?
(sorry for asking something so silly instead of trying it but I am gonna get kicked out if I crank this thing up :D)

Because now I feel like I need to put a boss DS-1 in front to feel comfortable when playing! Do you guys think an extra boost is needed when playing the Mark in low or high volumes?

Thanks for your time everybody! :wink:

Try running it Class A, triode, tweed. I used a TS 808 in front to give it a slight boost

You're saying there's not enough gain? What's your setting like?

~trem

Well, at a bedroom volume it sounds gainy but sometimes to my ears and hands the tone seems a little bit "weak" gain-wise!
My question was, with the same gain-drive-treble-presence (all these give gain in MKIV, right?) settings that I have now, if I turn the output volume loud enough will the sound be more gain-y? Cause I've read that when you increase volume you have to decrease gain! If that's the case then probably I don't need a boost when playing live-loud, but what about bedroom volumes?

Yeh dude, when you put the volume up it will be WAY more tan enough gain.

Here are my settings for the lead channel!

Lead Gain (pulled): 7.5
Treble: 7
Bass: 2.5
Mids: 4.5
Lead drive(Pulled): 7

Channel Vol: 3.5

Prescence: 3.5
Output: 2.3